Restricting parental access to personal details using Limited Access

Restricting parental access to personal details using Limited Access

All kinds of families will come to your nursery expecting great care for their children, which unfortunately means that, sometimes, there will be safeguarding concerns around separated parents being able to see each other's personal details. That's why we've added the Limited Access option to the Parental Details section of the child profile, so you can hide sensitive information from parents who shouldn't be given that access. 

Limited Access WILL:
  1. Prevent any parents marked with Limited Access from seeing other parents' personal details on the parent app, and on invoices.
  2. Prevent parents marked with Limited Access from receiving the Child Profile Form.
  3. Allow all parents to see the child's profile, learning journey, daily diaries, invoices (if marked as Bill Payer), and communications. 
Limited Access WON'T:
  1. Prevent parents marked with Limited Access from seeing observations, comments, and likes from other parents on their child's learning journey.

Turning on Limited Access

  1. Click on  Children in the sidebar.
  2. Click on a child's name to go to their profile.
  3. Go to the Parental Details tab.
  4. Check Limited Access for the parent whose access you want to restrict. They will only be able to see their own information on the Parental Details section of the app.

Additional safeguarding measures

Unfortunately, Limited Access cannot hide all information in every area of the system. As mentioned above, information on the child's learning journey will always be visible to both parents. For parents who wish to remain completely separate, an alternative solution to using Limited Access to is to maintain two child profiles, one for each parent. Group observations and group daily diaries can be used to share updates with both parents, without having to publish them twice, while still maintaining separate learning journeys.